Don’t let the title fool you–there isn’t much “modern” thinking in this book.  The biblical framework still holds strong regarding the expectations of girls and women in the world.

This title provides guidance for parents on raising young girls (ages 4-11) in the spirit of the Lord.  A lot of the book focuses on the actions of a mother and how these cultivate growth in girls, but there is a toolbox for dads included as well.

Intended to complement the book Raising a Modern Day Princess, which focuses on parenting pre-teens and teenagers, the acronym PRINCESS serves as a guidepost for specific attributes to encourage: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

I struggled with this title a little, because while I really enjoyed the practical tips provided, I could see a lot of them working for my own children.  There is a section on identifying your daughter’s personality, but I felt it was more to enable you to “overcome” it than to embrace it.

My second issue with the text was that it felt outdated and followed the notion of “girls are sweet, gentle, and kind.” The attributes listed above are wonderful traits, but I also want to encourage my daughter to be brave, inquisitive, and confident.  I don’t want her to be the dainty princess who waits locked in the tower, I want her to be strong and willing to tame the dragons herself, if need be.

Overall, I think this title is a great reference for building biblical character, but it wouldn’t be the first (or only) title I would recommend!

