Hello again Friends!

Last night I joined my first Small Group, and I am so glad I decided to step outside of my comfort zone!  My hubs and I only knew one other couple, so the idea studying scripture and opening up to 6 other couples was somewhat intimidating. However,  the area of fellowship has been sparse in my life and I know to continue growing spiritually this must change.

I want to expose my children to the wonderful promises of the Lord, but some times I am not sure what to say or how to approach some of the topics at a level they can understand. When I saw the opportunity to review The Biggest Story: Audio CD and DVD, I responded almost immediately.  Varying content formats enhances exposure to the same ideas in new ways, so our children’s bible stories and discussions about biblical figures and events would be touched on in a new way with this resource.

The day the package arrived, I was giddy with excitement.  Book happy mail gives me the feeling you get on the morning of your birthday–great things are coming, you just know it. Both the CD and the DVD cases are colorful and artistically intriguing. My son is fascinated with audio books at the moment, so he opted to listen to the CD as part of his bedtime routine that night.  He laid down to listen, and as soon as he realized it was retelling Bible stories, he shot up in bed.  “Mom! We just talked about Adam and Eve today in class.”  (Long explanation ensues. And this is huge, because he rarely discusses his day with me.)  We listened to about half of the chapters before he fell asleep.  The speaker’s voice is low, slow, and soothing (which for some is a blessing.  Personally, I like a little vocal inflection and excitement!).  Background music does add a nice touch, and sound effects help bring the story to life a bit.

This retelling of the Bible doesn’t skip over the “difficult parts,” but helps connect the dots between people not always living up to God’s expectations and the promises of following the Lord faithfully.   Some of the explanations are goofy, but my kids didn’t notice as much as I did. It is engaging and approaches topics from the bible in a simple way, appropriate for young children.   I can see this resource being a wonderful asset for children’s church or a Sunday School class, where chapters can be selected for a lesson and discussed more in depth. Even though the entire story is only 26 minutes, I wouldn’t recommend listening to the whole story in one sitting like we did.

DVD repeats the same audio track, but it is accompanied by animated visuals.  It is by no means a cartoon, nor is there really any acting out of the story line.  If you aren’t expecting the latest and greatest animation, but want some visual aid for children who struggle to imagine a story just from listening, you won’t be disappointed by this DVD.

Overall, this resource is a great supplement to introducing bible stories to young children, and is perfect for bedtime, car time, or really any time! Any resource that helps encourage faith in God and enhance the knowledge of the Lord’s promises is a win in my book!

**There is a hardcover version of the story available, but I only had the opportunity to review the audio and video versions.

Buy it from Amazon, Crossway, or any other retailers of Christian materials.

Win it:  Propeller Consulting, LLC. is generously offering one of you lucky readers a copy of this CD/DVD combo.  For your chance to win, comment below with your favorite Bible verse or story!

“Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”
