spiritual warfareTitle:  The Spiritual Warfare Answer Book

Author: Dr. David Jeremiah

Publisher: Thomas Nelson (2016)

# Pages: 224

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 

Why I Chose It:  Motherhood does quite the number of a woman’s sense of self and understanding of the world around her.  As I try to raise my children to be faithful Christians, I am at a time in life when I have more questions than answers.   I selected this book with the hope of finding clarity to some of the more complex questions I have. (Spoiler alert: I did!)

Publisher’s Blurb:

Trusted pastor and bestselling author Dr. David Jeremiah brings clarity to the complex topic of spiritual warfare. From his years of teaching on this subject, Pastor Jeremiah has selected answers to your pertinent questions concerning victory in the spiritual realm.

The Bible says God will ultimately be victorious and win the spiritual war. But it also says He has given every Christian promises and power to win our daily spiritual battles. The book includes 86 questions with answers such as: How does Satan imitate God? Are demons real? What protection does the shield of faith provide? How can I defend myself against a hostile world? How do I “put on” Christ?

What I Think:

In light of the recent popularity of the movie War Room, many of you will be able to relate with wanting to be properly armed with the tools to utilize your faith to its fullest capacity.  This answer book will help you not only understand many aspects of Christianity that go overlooked or get only brief mention, but also be able to explain some of these nuances to others.  I personally don’t care for the phrase “defend your faith” for I feel faith is such a personal matter (and it gives the idea of faith being something that separates us from “the others” rather than unifies us as humans and helps us reach out to others).  However, it is difficult to share a faith that you don’t quite understand.  People want to hear someone who is well-versed, who can explain the details in a way that is clear and engaging–not someone who says “that’s just how it is”.

Dr. David Jeremiah does an excellent job of answering some of the most pressing question regarding Christianity This book answers 86 of the most popular questions (ranging in complexity with something for all readers) with brief (but complete) answers that are easy to understand and quick to read, complete with scriptural references.

For example:spiritual

I waited to post my review on this text after receiving it because I wanted to give myself time to form a solid opinion.  Sometimes my initial reaction isn’t in line with how I feel about reference books after using them time and time again.  I have this trouble with bibles as well–it is far too easy to fall into a rut and not give new materials a fair chance.  Initially, I was dissatisfied with this book.  It seemed to be a little too over the top for my liking, nearing the brink of the diehard, fanatical Christianity that I try to keep my distance from.  Much of the book focuses on the armor of God–the Breastplate of Righteousness, the Girdle of Truth, the Helmet of Salvation, etc.  The idea of faith being a war is hard for me to wrap my mind around.  I understand the basic notion of good vs. evil, but in this world I see faith ripping people apart, isolating fellow men and women labeled as “others,” and it breaks my heart.  I do not want a faith that hurts more than it heals, and the idea of people being faithful in this manner brings many questions to my mind.

Perhaps this is precisely why I need to read this book.  When you are in a place that you have more questions than answers, it becomes necessary to seek your truth. The daily war Christians all face in finding this truth is precisely why this book is necessary.  Who are we? What do we believe? This book helped alleviate some of the anxiety I have been feeling in wondering lately amidst the chaos life tends to bring (both on a personal level and on a larger scale of societal breakdown).

Its compact size makes it easy to take as a travel companion, and the short Q/A format could easily become part of a daily routine alongside a devotional or journaling activity.

Know your truth and be ready to live it out daily.

 

**I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

