Title: Would A Worm Go On A Walk

Author: Hannah C. Hall

Publisher: Ideals Childrens Books

Genre: Children

# Pages: 32

 

Why I Chose It:

I am always looking for great books to read with my kids.  I look particularly at the way language is used and the artistic quality presented.  With a vivid cover (it’s always the cover drawing me in!) and a promise for a humorous way to explore God’s creatures, I knew my children would love reading this book!  (Who am I kidding, so would I!)

Publisher’s Blurb:

Would a worm go on a walk, if you could lead him down the street? / Would he wear his tiny tennies, if he had two worm-sized feet?

So begins this humorous and imaginative picture book that introduces children to the idea that animals are uniquely created by a loving and wise God. Would a Worm Go on a Walk?, with its colorful, comical illustrations, is a fresh, fun way to teach young children that God created all things very good. He gave all the animals, and children, too, wonderful qualities and unique strengths. Children will giggle over the ridiculous scenarios presented, and they will come away with the knowledge that we all are loved and special.

What I Thought:

What a wonderfully silly book to read with young children!  Mine poured over the pages, giggling at the various scenarios presented.  The illustrations were colorful and engaging, and the characters were depicted in a way that was not overly childish but suited the audience well.

“Would a Worm Go on a Walk” by Hannah C Hall is a humorous picture book that teaches children that God made every creature special with strengths AND weaknesses.  It helps them gain confidence in being comfortable in their own skin, rather than wishing they could be like someone else.

The publisher’s target audience is ages 4-7.  For understanding the deeper lesson behind the book, this target group is perfect.  However, I think this book also is suited for younger toddlers to begin engaging with language and sounds.  The rhymes are easy to follow and the silly scenarios keep them interested.

Would A Worm Go On a Walk is an excellent way to discuss the relationship between individuality and God’s purpose with young children.


I have been granted an awesome opportunity to give away one copy of this book to one of my lovely followers!  If you would like a chance to be entered, leave a comment below with the title of your favorite book to read with children (or as a child yourself).   I will select a winner on July 8!

Earn up to 2 additional entries by following me on instagram @bleedingheartbooks and tag 2 friends!

**Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

