starter bible Title: Starter Bible

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

# Pages: 40   (Hardcover)

Genre: Faith, Children

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

 

Why I Chose This Book:  I am always looking for the perfect way to introduce important stories from the Bible to my children in ways that will be interesting and easy for them to understand.  While there are many options out there, this one actually seems made FOR children, not for parents who want it to be for children.  From the sturdy construction to vivid images and simple language, this book draws children in and encourages them to OWN a Bible (it even makes it easy to transport by including a handle!).

Publisher’s Blurb:

Parents love introducing their favorite Bible stories to young children, and this book of Bible favorites is the perfect way to share these timeless stories with kids. This book features some of the most popular stories from the Bible with short text and bright art, perfect for little ones’ attention spans. With a padded cover and a purple plastic carry-me handle, this book is easy for kids to take on the go.

What I Thought:  I LOVED this Bible for young children.  (I didn’t give it 5 stars, but I’ll get to my nit-picking reasons later on.)  As I said above, this was the first I have explored that actually seemed made for children.  The illustrations were realistic but still lighthearted, and the attention to detail was outstanding.  Good children’s books are read time  and time again, with each read revealing something new.  This book isn’t one to be shoved to the back corner of your child’s reading shelf.

The day this book arrived, my children were so excited.  They instantly realized this wasn’t another “Mommy book” and were eager to explore the pages and stories.  We were pleased to see that in addition to the standard favorites (Adam and Eve, Noah’s Ark, the Resurrection), this book included a few more obscure teachings from the bible (Esther, Jesus’ miracles, etc).  The stories were chronologically ordered, so it was easy for 2 year old to follow what was happening.

That said, this book is best suited for toddlers or young preschool age children.  My 2 year old listened intently to the stories, but my 5 year old, who has some background knowledge of these stories, was a little put off by the simplistic explanations provided.  “There were some bad men who didn’t like Jesus.”  Well yeah, Mom, but why aren’t they talking about ‘x’?  Don’t they know that ‘y’ happened too and that’s why?  With this in mind, I would definitely recommend this book to parents (grandparents, guardians, etc) looking for their child’s first introduction to Bible stories.

