invisibleTitle: Invisible
Authors: James Patterson & David Ellis
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing (2015)
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Why I Chose This Book:
I loved James Patterson from the first reading of Along Came a Spider.   Although some of the newer stuff has been hit or miss, when the cover claimed this book would “make my jaw drop,” I knew I had to give it a try. (Plus, it never hurts to find books to try at garage sales, which tend to offer popular titles for low prices! Many readers buy books, read, them once, then sell them for fifty cents or $1. Tally that as a win for me!)

Publisher’s Overview:
Everyone thinks Emmy Dockery is crazy. Obsessed with finding the link between hundreds of unsolved cases, Emmy has taken leave from her job as an FBI researcher. Now all she has are the newspaper clippings that wallpaper her bedroom, and her recurring nightmares of an all-consuming fire.
Not even Emmy’s ex-boyfriend, field agent Harrison “Books” Bookman, will believe her that hundreds of kidnappings, rapes, and murders are all connected. That is, until Emmy finds a piece of evidence he can’t afford to ignore. More murders are reported by the day—and they’re all inexplicable. No motives, no murder weapons, no suspects. Could one person really be responsible for these unthinkable crimes?
INVISIBLE is James Patterson’s scariest, most chilling stand-alone thriller yet.

What I Think About the Book:
When I chose this book, I was skeptical. Newer works by Patterson had been hit or miss for me over the last 10 years, but as I mentioned above, who can turn down a potential thriller for a mere 50 cents? I am glad I didn’t!
This story had all the workings of a classic horror movie: suspense, hints of gore (without unnecessary descriptions or details), an unpredictable storyline with plenty of twists and turns. From the first “Graham Session,” Patterson hooks readers into playing the role of criminal psychologist, trying to figure out who he is and what his patterns are. The book continues to flip between these “sessions” told first-person by the killer and a third-person narration of FBI research analyst Emmy and her ex-fiance (yes, there is even awkward romantic tension here) trying to solve the case. Luckily, the jumps are chronological and connected, so following the story line isn’t hindered in the least by this format.
The characters are not only believable but also likeable (is it odd to relate to a sociopath?). I frequently found my heart aching for Emmy as she desperately tried to get someone to believe the connections she had made, and I found myself impressed time and time again by Graham’s nearly perfect methodology (again, creepy, I know).
Perhaps the best part for me was the twisty story line. The last book I read that kept me on my toes this much was Gone Girl nearly 2 years ago. Kudos, James Patterson for not handing me a cookie cutter storyline. Each time I thought so that’s who Graham is, another twist came to prove me wrong.  There were many times I felt like I couldn’t breathe, anxious for Emmy and Books to find the killer before he struck again.

Below is a Wordle I created using words from the book to describe Graham:

invisible_wordle

