This book has been an interesting read, to say the least.  I constantly feel suffocated by the “stuff” in my life, but continually let myself continue in the consumerism trap of fulfilling imaginary needs.  Sparkly purse?  Need it.  (Nevermind the fact that I don’t even carry a purse.  It would look soooooo cute should I ever need to carry one.)

This quote really stood out to me:

Grayed down discipleship is an easier sell, but it created pretend Christians, obsessing over Scriptures we like while conspicuously ignoring the rest….We’re still deaf to the truth, blind to freedom, deceived by the treasures of the world, imagining them to be the key when they are actually the lock. (Page 93)

There are a lot of things happening in the world today that I want to turn away from.  I want the pretty bible journaling and the appearance of having it all together.  But the more I read, the more I wonder if I really do, if I ever will, and if maybe, just maybe, that’s the point.

