SWCIn You Can’t Make Me (But I Can Be Persuaded), Cynthia Tobias looks into the mindset of “strong-willed children” and provides useful strategies for parents and caregivers to effectively correct behavior without harming the relationship with the child. I ordered this book with hopes of receiving advice on how to handle situations where I had often felt locked in a power-struggle with my toddler. For that purpose, book succeeded. Throughout the book, the author addresses many ways to overcome (or even avoid) such struggles with children who do not respond well to common criticisms and punishments, providing simple tips and explanations that can be applied immediately.

Some of the techniques seem so basic, yet many parents (myself included) often forget to utilize them in their repertoire. As I read a new chapter, I would begin applying the techniques in my own home. Just like most advice, some of the tips worked with my son, and some of them didn’t. The tips and tricks that worked, however, were well worth the failed attempts with those that didn’t.
Overall, the book is a great addition to any parent’s collection, not just those who would consider their child “strong-willed.” Every child could benefit from their parents utilizing some of the practical advice in this book provides, and honestly, who wouldn’t rather be persuaded to do something rather than forced?

I did receive this book free from Multnomah Press in exchange for an honest review, but I was in no way obligated to leave a positive review.

