Author:  River Jordan

Publisher: WaterBrook Publishing

ISBN: 978-0-307-45705-9

 

“The greatest story ever written” did not fall into my hands with this one.

I received Miracle of Mercy Land nearly a year ago, and I cannot bring myself to make it past the first few chapters, not matter how hard I try.  I have told myself over and over that the first few chapters might not be an indication of how the rest of the book will be, but if I cannot get into a book quickly, it is very difficult to continue reading.

Time is such a precious commodity now that I have a baby and am teaching full time.  I don’t take advantage of those rare moments I find myself embracing the silence that allows to me curl up beneath a blanket and lose myself in a good book. 

The storyline intrigued me:  A sheltered daughter of a preacher leaves her hometown in the 1930’s and finds a job as an assistant at a newspaper.  Combine this synopsis with the knowledge that there is a science fiction element of an omniscient map that reveals past decisions for everyone in the town, and you have quite the set-up for a great novel.

While I was disappointed, I let a few friends borrow the book who are truly into historical fiction, and they claimed to have a hard time putting it down. 

My best critique for this book:  use reader discretion when picking it up.  You may love it, but I hated it. 

**I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
